REVIEWS

Reviews in Amazon

Great Book

Rated 5 out of 5
July 3, 2020

Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2020
I really enjoyed this book. I am a native of Tucson, and loved all of the references to the city, places, traditions, and people. The book was a good read right from the beginning, with a host of characters and twists and turns. You never know how things are going to turn out. It is also interesting to see how the attorney, Larry Ross, prepared his cases, the weight he carried and the responsibility he had for his clients. I am looking forward to reading Mr. Rockafellow’s other books.

Sandi L.

Five Stars

Rated 5 out of 5
March 30, 2017

Reviewed in the United States on March 30, 2017
Awesome! Great suspense. Author did an excellent job. Looking forward to getting his other books!

Sabuu

Well written, held my attention

Rated 5 out of 5
October 18, 2016

Reviewed in the United States on October 18, 2016
great read, I wonder if the Bar in the story was the old “Grant Road Tavern”

Nick D

Amazing read!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 1, 2011

Reviewed in the United States on August 1, 2011
What an amazing book. I was hooked right away and could not put it down. It was really interesting to be taken through the legal process, not only through the courts but work done by the attorney as he prepares for a case. I would definitely want Larry Ross to represent me! It only gets better because there are two more books written by this author. I have already read them, “Immaculate Deception” and “Final Option”. I hope that everyone enjoys these books as much as I did!

Andrew

Diminished Capacity - Great read!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 19, 2010

Reviewed in the United States on June 19, 2010
What a great read!! The book was difficult to put down as I wanted to see what was going to happen next. Looking forward to the next novel.

J. Wolfe

A plot to die for!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 13, 2009

Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this book- I picked it up for 5 minutes and before I know it was an hour later and I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. One thing the author does really well is to tell things from different characters’ perspectives, each time adding a new bit of info – often surprising info – that you didn’t know before. I couldn’t help but wonder if this comes from his lawyer experience of “every story has two sides”. Also wondered if the author modeled the main character after himself, either real or ideal, since he picked the same initials; if so, I sure would want L.R. (both of them) for my lawyer. By the way, I never thought anyone could possibly make a reader sympathetic to the lives of lawyers. He also really captures day to day life Tucson – with the getting up with the sun at 5 AM and even the “ice break” contest. And I like the way he has characters span the whole range from top of the world, to utter despair, and back again, in a short period of time – it makes things seem possible. Finally, learning about the law was a free bonus. I look forward to his next book; although this didn’t detract from enjoyment of this one at all, my wish list for the next one is to be more female-friendly, both to characters and themes.

Jae Hee

great debut

Rated 5 out of 5
February 3, 2009

Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2009
I had the pleasure of reading Diminshed Capacity and loved it. As a Tucsonan I loved how Rockafellow included the quirky little traits of our city in the desert. Rockafellow had great character development and a story that was well put together. There were some twists and turns that was interesting and a good ending. I understand this is a first of a trilogy and look forward to seeing more from him.

Amazon CustomerTop Contributor: Coloring

Southwest Criminals

Rated 4 out of 5
July 29, 2008

Reviewed in the United States on July 29, 2008
What a fun book. I live in Tucson so my enthusiasm may be slightly colored by the novel’s location however the writing and storyline are firstrate. This author clearly lives in the region as he has done a wonderful job capturing the attitude and heartbeat {good & bad} of the area. Even though this is Rockafellow’s first published novel he has clearly been honing his craft for awhile. The cast of characters is reminiscent of The Rockford Files or early John Grisham. The first chapter pulls you in and the story keeps you glued to the pages. It’s an easy read and a great way to pass a summer weekend. Hopefully he will entertain us with a similar cast of characters in upcoming novels. It would be great to see Larry Ross evolve into a Lawrence Sanders Edward X. Delaney type protagonist. Great job on your first novel.

M. Cluck

Outstanding

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2008

Reviewed in the United States on July 23, 2008
Excellent for the first timer, I expect to read more of Mr. Rockafellow in the near future. His style of writing is to get you interested in the first few chapters. I kept wanting to read the book until I finished. Very hard to put down. The characters are so real and the outcome so very crazy. If you like Grisham, you won’t be disappointed.

Amazon Customer

Diminished Capacity by Leighton Rockafellow

Rated 5 out of 5
June 17, 2008

Reviewed in the United States on June 17, 2008
This book pulled me right into the story with the first few pages! It was fun to read and I especially enjoyed reading a story that featured the city where I grew up and live. Mr. Rockafellow has a great sense in keeping the story filled with suspense as well as being able to make us believe that this story might have really happened. It is a rollercoaster that is fun to ride and I look forward to the next one.

Booklook

iUniverse Recognition Programs